The Director of Photography

Posted: August 30, 2011 in Directory of Photography
Tags: , , , , ,

I have not posted in a while and wanted to share some things with you as I’ve been going through this journey. Being a DP is much more than just operating the camera and getting the shot. It’s more like you are steering the course of what the viewers will see as you are telling the story. It doesn’t necessarily have to be YOUR story but a story. Reveals, angles, movements, depth of fields, all these are just a fraction of the tools that the DP uses to help tell the story.

I was blessed to be a part of some really great projects that taught me more than a few things on telling a story. Since then I’ve been asked to DP on a new project and I’ve been studying the script and the shot list thoroughly to find out how I can bring the director’s story to life and keep the audience engaged! I must admit it’s a litte scary but I’m so up for the challenge! I will keep you posted!

Comments
  1. Cliff Burns says:

    A DP/cinematographer is the unsung hero of film, as far as I’m concerned. Directors get attention, even a few writers (although they tend to be terrible hacks like Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman). But when I think of some of my favorite films, “Apocalypse Now”, for instance, Francis Ford Coppola’s name is on my lips but so is Vittorio Storaro, who really designed and executed the “look” of that film to perfection. Or Gregg Toland, lighting and framing “Citizen Kane”. Those guys are artists with a capital “A”. A great DP takes a movie to a whole other level…and I hope that’s the case with you and your latest project.

    Good luck.

  2. Michael Stewart says:

    Hello Cliff

    Thank you for your words of inspiration! And I like Apocalypse Now as well! I never imagined going this far with this at all..I figured hey I got a T2i and I can take some pictures and some nice video…lol, boy did I get myself into a pickle…I love it! I will post more updates as I get the ok from the director!

    Michael

Leave your comments!

