My Shoot with the band “Snow Patrol”

Posted: April 24, 2012 in News
Tags: , , , , ,

Ok, so again this may or may not be appropriate for this blog but it’s my blog and I can post what I want. Now that I have that off my chest and have your attention….

I was privileged to be given an opportunity to be camera guy on a shoot for this band through Turner Studios. Now to be honest I had never heard of them before this. I googled them of course, just to get a background on who they were. Well needless to say I hadn’t heard any of the songs that they had done. But they were very very popular though. Anyway, we have a pre-production meeting with the staff at Turner and another shooter I had met that day as well. Plans were set to shoot an interview and walk to stage on Monday April 2nd!

Man as you can possibly imagine, I’m excited, about the opportunity and about the shoot. Monday couldn’t come quick enough! Finally Monday arrives and I’m going through my mind how the shoot will go and everything will be perfect. I arrived at Turner around 2:45pm and we head to get the cameras we’ll be using and then head to the equipment room where we meet up again with audio “A-Team” Gerald and Chris, to prep the gear and get whatever else we’ll need for the shoot! We are shooting with Sony EX3s. I get tagged as the main camera and Gerald jams me with time code. We get lights and some other gear and head to the Tabernacle. Once there we setup in a room for the interview, getting lighting set and then then interview began.  In walked lead singer GaryLightBody and keyboardist Tom Simpson and they were so energetic and had a great spirit about them.  They introduced themselves to EVERYONE in the room, sat down and after a few minor adjustments, started this wonderful journey through time with them.  They were great, humorous and truly HAPPY.

We were given the opportunity to do the walk to stage and the energy level was through the roof.  We got some great footage and I personally left with a feeling of exhilaration that I was blessed with an opportunity to be a part of this.  I was thankful and put out there that I need more of this! 🙂

Anyway if you don’t know about Snow Patrol check them out here! Special treat for all you music enthusiasts.  They are also distributing their album on Vinyl – Yes vinyl is still relevant in the music world!

That’s all for now folks!

Leave your comments!

